I am guilty of cleaning my kitchen and then having an urge to bake and making new mess. For some reason, a messy kitchen prevents me from baking. My new answer to keeping a diet is to have a messy kitchen! Just kidding. 😛 In all seriousness, though, these muffins are actually pretty healthy and suitable for breakfast eating.

A Little Help or Two
I had some oranges that I needed to use up, so what better to bake than cranberry orange muffins? I enlisted my two older boys (4 and 3 years old) to help me. Today they were my ingredient retrieval crew. They have baked enough with me, that they know what each ingredient looks like and where it is located in our pantry.

Ingredients:

4 cups of flour (or whole wheat flour)
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
A small pinch of salt
1 cup of sugar
1 1/4 cups of orange juice (I used mostly fresh squeezed)
1 tbsp. orange zest (from the oranges I go the juice from)
1/4 cup cream (or milk, or sour cream)
2 eggs
1/2 coconut oil (or 1/4 coconut and 1/4 butter)
1 tbsp. vanilla
1 3/4 cups of cranberries (you can also use craisins soaked in water if you don’t like the tartness of fresh cranberries

My boys also helped by putting the ingredients away and dumping the measured ingredients into the bowl. These were pretty quick to make because of their help.

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
2. Mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and the tiny bit of salt together in one bowl.
3. In the larger bowl combine the oils, sugar, vanilla, eggs, orange zest and juice, and cream.
4. Mix flour mixture into the liquids
5. Add muffin cups to two 12 muffin pans. I prefer to use these, because the pan is easier to clean afterward.
6. Fill each cup 3/4 of the way full
7. Bake for 17-20 minutes. Check for done-ness with a toothpick to see if it comes out clean.
*Yields- 24 muffins

20170106_15272620170106_155412

I love baking with my guys because it is a great learning experience for them (and a patience learning tool for me!). They are so excited to bake and it gives us so20170106_160543me bonding time together. My mom and I used to bake together often, and those are some of my fondest memories from my childhood. I want to pass that down to my little guys. I am also glad that they will grow up knowing their way around the kitchen!

Now time to re-clean my kitchen.

What age did your kids start baking with you? When did they start measuring out ingredients themselves? I’m not sure when I will be brave enough to move into that!

 

Big Batch of.png

 

