I should not be awake. It’s 7:30 am, so it is isn’t really that early, but after being up until 4:45 am it is sort of early. Yesterday I was having a “day” I guess you could say. I was getting so stressed out over the smallest things. My house is a mess because we have been so busy, but we were going to the lake with some friends and didn’t have time to clean it. We are having guests today and all that I could think about was “when are we going to have the time to clean this??” and “when am I even going to have the energy to clean?”. Then we went grocery shopping… I became so grumpy because I am trying to watch everything we spend right now because we are low on funds this month. We grabbed some cheese sticks on the way to the till that were 50% off and thought that they could be a good addition to our lunch at the lake. After leaving the store, even though I usually always check the receipt, I realized that we were charged full price for these cheese sticks instead of the half off price. We spent $6.99 for cheese sticks when we didn’t have enough money to buy even other normal groceries. Immediately I felt so guilty. And angry. And stressed out. All that I could focus on for the next hour was those cheese sticks and how we could have had an extra $3.50 in our pockets. I even took out my anger on my husband by talking quite rudely to him.

We got to the lake, and had a wonderful time despite how the morning had been going. It was a beautiful day and the water was so nice. We got to visit with our friends and ate a nice picnic lunch. Later on that day we decided that we would go home and get our son to bed and once he was sleeping, because we can usually move him without him fully waking, we would take him and go visit with the friends for some much needed adult time. As soon as we were in the van, he woke up and was wide awake as if he had just had the best nap of his life. I was so frustrated and mad because we had been having troubles with him sleeping for the passed week and I really needed a bit of a break. I was ready to just turn around and go back home instead of going to visit because I  figured  that I would just be chasing him around the whole time and dealing with a tired baby and bothering the people we were supposed to be visiting with.

These are exactly the things that the devil uses to try and prevent us from what God has in store for us. He distracts us by the smallest physical things that in the spiritual he is using to move us away from God. And we so often give in when our day isn’t going our way. We become miserable, complaining about where God has us in life.

My husband pushed me and decided that we were still going (he was behind the wheel, thankfully). So we went. At first I was probably emanating my frustration for everyone else to see. We got to visit for a bit, but I was still mostly watching him and trying to keep him entertained while he was already over tired at this point. I could have decided to leave in my frustration after an hour of being there. God kept me there. Finally my son went to bed at around midnight. We were able to play a game together as adults. We were filled with the Holy Spirit and talked and talked about the things of God and what He was doing in Canada and in our lives. We talked about biblical principles and how He was speaking in this season. It was so awesome. God is so awesome. It was so energizing. We didn’t run out of words to praise him with until about 4:00 am, when we decided we should probably head home and get a few hours of sleep before our in laws were coming. The devil tried through that conversation to put my mind on the fact that we had an early morning and my house was still a mess. God helped me overcome those thoughts because His purpose for that night was so much greater than sleep and a clean house.

Sometimes we get so distracted by the little things that happen to upset how we thought our day should be going. We allow them to be able to take our thoughts and actions and we act out by saying and doing things we later regret. I was reminded of the verse in Ephesians that says “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world, and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” (6:12) The devil is sneaky. He will use the most innocent looking situations to try and move you away from the Lord. He will use them to lead you into sin with how you react. He will try and keep you from spiritual break through by keeping you distracted by the physical.

Thankfully, God gave us the Holy Spirit. The passage in Ephesians goes on to say:

 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit,which is the word of God.

 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. (6:13-18)

If we stand on guard and abide in the Lord by having faith, knowing the scriptures, praying, and living a holy life devoted to him, we already have the victory in these areas. He will guide our thoughts and our actions to become more in line with his. Praise the Lord, he is so good to us! The devil has no ground in our life when we abide in God!

Lord, I don’t want to let the things of this world distract me from you, your plan and your will for my life. I know that you have planned my coming and my going even in the little details of my day. Help me to know that you have a purpose in every situation and help me to stand firm to the truth of your Word. Thank you Lord that you have given us victory through Jesus Christ our saviour. I want to glorify you with my days. Help me to do that. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

