Before I became a Christian, I was searching. I searched for so many ways to make myself happy. To full up the emptiness I felt inside. I tried by taking up some different hobbies, by surrounding myself with people all the time, and by drinking and partying. I tried to expand my music collection and went to many concerts. I tried traveling and camping, and I even tried yoga. I tried to become an activist for the environment and even went so far as to become vegan for a whole year. Despite all these things that the world might see as “interesting”, I still felt empty at the end of the day once the activity stopped. I hated being alone because I would feel this emptiness even stronger. All of these things only provided temporary happiness, not the kind that lasts.

When Jesus Christ showed up in my life, it all changed. I was at the lowest I had ever felt, I was completely empty. Then one night He spoke to my heart, and told me that all my searching was in vein. There is only one way to fill that void in my heart. And that way is Jesus Christ. I cannot explain how exactly it happened, but the Holy Spirit came upon me and accepted Him that night. From that day forward, I had the eager desire to change. I was filled to overflowing; I was excited! I weeded out a lot of things in my life in the following months. I deleted most of what was on my ipod, and I got rid of many DVDs. I knew I had to change how I spent my time and who I spent it with. I began going to a local church and I met a few people there. I started reading the bible, and it lit up for me more than it ever had in my life. Instead of being “boring” and “monotonous”, it became a living, breathing word that was speaking directly to me and to my life. It became really interesting.

My life has completely changed from then on. I am living a full life. I am overflowing with joy from the Lord. I could never go back. I don’t ever want to.

Are you searching for something to fill that seemingly not fillable void in your life? Do you feel empty after the day is done and you are alone? There is truly only one way to fill that void. Jesus Christ died on the cross for our sins, so that we could be wiped clean and brought into communion with God. It is as simple as asking the Lord for forgiveness of your sins and into your heart. He will be your guidance and strength to do the rest. Your life will look very different after you accept Christ. You are now living for a purpose… and a very noble one at that! You will face hardship at times, but He is always there to protect you and be your strength. God loves you deeply, and is so excited that He  finally gets to be a part of your life (the center of it).

Lord, I ask for your forgiveness for the way that I have been living. Forgive me of my sins. I want you to be at the center of my life, and I want to live for your  purpose. Fill me with your Holy Spirit, and teach me your ways. I want you to be the Lord and Saviour of my life, and I don’t want to go back to my old ways. Thank you Lord for everything you have done for me on the cross. Amen. 

“For God so loved the world that He gave his one and only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

