Love. This is probably the most used and most heard word in the Body of Christ. And rightfully so, considering Jesus says that the two greatest commandments that all of the law and the prophets hang on to, are the ones about love. “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.”– the first greatest and “Love your neighbour as yourself” – the second greatest. (see Matthew 22:37-40) I find it interesting that there are almost as many verses with the word love in it as there are with God’s name in it. We talk about the love of God, loving others, loving God, etc., but what do these things really mean? How do we go about truly loving God? How do we truly love others? And what is God’s love really all about? You may have an idea about these things, but I just felt that God wanted me to share some thoughts on the matter. Before I go on, here is one of, in my opinion, the most influential scriptures about love, apart from Jesus says:

“If I speak in tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.
Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. ”
-1 Corinthians 13:1-8

God doesn’t say that those are the two greatest of all of the commandments for nothing. He wants his people to focus on love, whether it be His love, our love for Him, or our love for others. Love is so important! More important than anything else. More important than prophecy, speaking in tongues, faith, spiritual knowledge, etc., etc. Paul says that love is the fulfillment of the law. (see Romans 13:8-10) If we have love, everything else will follow.

There is much too much to talk about on this subject for only one blog, so I will be coming back to this topic in my entries for the next few weeks. Love is such a broad term, and there are so many aspects to it. For today, I just wanted to leave you with that verse to ponder and pray about.

