I just have a short thought for today. I woke up this morning with a song in my head called ‘Basics of Life’ by Avalon. I haven’t heard this song since I was pretty young, my mom used to listen to it. It reminded me of a set of verses in Matthew,

“I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me.” -Matthew 18:3-5

As Christians, especially if you have been one for awhile, it is really easy to forget about the very basic teachings of Jesus Christ and the bible. We have read and know them, and so we go on to try and learn the deeper spiritual things of God. And that is okay. But sometimes we need to take a step back and forget everything we think we know and read and reflect on those basic truths once again. It’s amazing how much will stand out in the word of the stuff we thought we already knew and had down packed,but maybe didn’t entirely.

No matter how much we think we know, we are still human and God is God. That’s why I think Jesus instructs us to humble ourselves like a child- so that we will be open once again to Him revealing those very basic truths in our heart. Also, when we forget about what we have learned and approach the bible as if we were reading it for the first time, we may even realize that some false information and incorrect opinions have leaked into our life and by humbling ourselves to God, we give Him the chance to reveal those things to us and weed them out of our thinking.

