You can probably guess that a lot of my inspiration for this entry is going to be from 2 Corinthians where Paul says, “Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord.” (5:6), and you would be right. To be honest, this isn’t what I thought the topic of my next post would be.

For the past 4 days (since Friday night until now- Tuesday afternoon), I have been dealing with the excruciating pain of kidney stones. My husband and I had been praying the whole way through for healing and strength, and the stones passed early Monday morning. Unfortunately, today the pain came back again. The whole time through, I thought that this was a process of God teaching me to have have faith and to trust in Him, no matter the circumstance. On some level, He did teach me a thing or two there, but the real lesson in all of this was a very different one from what my human mind thought it would be.

I was SO frustrated this morning when the pain came back again. I couldn’t understand why, after all of our prayers and the prayers of other people for healing, why He would heal me and then let it come back again right away. The devil was trying to sneak thoughts into my head that it was somehow my fault that this was happening to me, that I must have sinned. I went to God and asked Him what I needed to repent for, and in His awesome graciousness, He quickly put those condemning thoughts to rest and reassured me that there was a different reason for all of these things to happen.

“Now we know that if the earthly tent we live in is detroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands. Meanwhile we groan, longing to be clothed with our heavenly dwelling, because when we are clothed, we will not be found naked… Now it is God who has made us for this very purpose and has given us the Spirit as a deposit, guaranteeing what it to come. Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. We live by faith, not by sight.” -2 Corinthians 5:1-7

In all of the discomfort I was feeling this weekend, God showed me just how comfortable I was getting in the flesh, away from Him. I was getting caught up in the physical aspects of my life such as getting the baby room ready, cleaning house, trying to find mommy friends, trying to find a potential place to live, money matters, and dreaming of getting a dog. And oh how easy it is to get caught up in these things! The devil makes it so that this world has so much to offer and occupy our minds, so that he can take us away from our God. He wants us to focus on what is seen and temporary rather than the unseen and eternal things of God (see 2 Corinthians 4:18). Paul tells Timothy that “No one serving as a soldier gets involved in civilian affairs- he wants to please his commanding officer.” (2 Timothy 2:4). That is exactly what the devil wants to distract us with- “civilian affairs”, so that we aren’t focusing on pleasing our “commanding officer”- God.

We cannot let the devil win this battle. Either we live for God, or we live for this world. We cannot do both. In Jesus’ words “No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate one and love the other, or he will be devoted to one and despise the other.” (Matthew 6:24a) We need to be aware that this is a spiritual battle, and when we focus on the physical things in this life, we are moving away from the Lord and His eternal glory, and more into our earthly home. We should not ever feel content here on earth with the things of this world, away from the Lord. Our contentment should come from God alone, and those things that are to come. No questions asked. No excuses. This is our call as Christ’s embassadors. We cannot be half living for the world and half for God. It does not work that way. Either we are all in or all out.

This is SO important, please think and pray about this.

All To Us- Chris Tomlin

