I always seem to have a lot of thoughts, but am sometimes too shy to unload that many words on other people out loud… except to my husband (bless his heart =P). Ironically God has asked me to fast from speaking out loud right now, so I thought it would be an even more opportune time to write. Why a fast from speaking you ask? I know, it seems weird right?… Not normal. People usually fast from food, television, their phones, and things like that. Well, in short, I felt very led to pray for a girl who is very close to my family. She always brings a smile to my face, and to a lot of other people’s. This girl is deaf, but I really feel that God wants to heal her as a testimony of His glory. In fact, her mom told me yesterday that it was actually spoken over her when she was a baby, before people knew that she was deaf, that her life would be a testimony of God’s greatness. I was worshipping God last night and I was so in awe of Him that I could not speak. He asked me to keep being silent and pray for her healing.

I didn’t tell you that so you could sympathize for me in my silence and fasting. No, I felt I should share it in case anybody else wanted to pray for her healing with me in this hour. To be honest, even though it has been only 20 hours of silence on my part and I still have my hearing, I have realized just how much I have taken being able to communicate with words for granted. I know that it is God’s plan for this girl to be healed, and I will have my phone with me until I get that phone call saying that she is healed!

Anyway, my name is Alyssa, I am 20 years old, and I plan on writing something on here at least once a week. This is the first formal blog I have ever written, but I feel as though there is a lot that God wants me to share. As you can tell, God is a big part of my life… the biggest part… my whole life. Most of my entries will be about His word and what it teaches, with some of my personal experiences mixed in at times. Even though I am only 20 years old, I know that He wants me to speak the truth, even if it sometimes seems harsh or blunt. Paul instructs Timothy in 1 Timothy 4:12 to not “let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith, and in purity.” (NIV- which will be the version I’ll use throughout my blogs except where noted). I feel that this is God’s charge to me as well. I hope that you can find some encouraging words as well as some ones that make you think and want to apply it.

*As with anything you read, please pray about everything I have written here and compare it with the word of God and what the Holy Spirit is telling you because, although I have prayed about what to write before I write it, it’s a good practice to get in to. 

God bless you, your family, and your day =)

